Movie – The Place Beyond The Pines

Urgh.

I was so looking forward to this film. The critic’s reviews were all glowing, the cast looked incredible and the trailer was well put together. What can I say apart from it’s my first big disappointment of 2013.

The Place Beyond The Pines is mesmerising, in parts. There are 5 minute sections scattered throughout the film that caused such a surge of emotion in me that I tried to convince myself all the way home that they saved the rest of it. Sadly, they really didn’t. It feels overly long and it’s massively convoluted. I really wish the 3 screenwriters had picked one of it’s three sunsequent father and son stories, and really focussed their efforts on that. As it is, it feels like three half-written films thrown together to try and make one complete one. And it doesn’t work.

In between the moments of brilliance, are long stretches where I was bored; looking at my watch not quite believing that the 15 minutes I had just watched wasn’t an hour. The cast all put in a good effort – Bradley Cooper, for me, being more of a stand-out than Ryan Gosling who is billed as the star.

I’m in no rush to see it again. And to be honest, the more I think on it, the more I think I sort of hated it.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

