DVD Library Mission #11 – Half Nelson

Oh, Ryan Gosling. The human version of a duckling (or in this case, baby goose) that turned into a swan. Anyone who has seen the pictures of Gosling in his Mickey Mouse Club days knows he was an awkward looking child but what a man he’s grown into. I don’t know a single woman who wouldn’t, and he has unashamedly the straight man’s allowable crush.

With that perv-ing out the way, I love this movie. Gosling gives such a subtly effective performance as Dan Dunne as does his sparring partner, Shareeka Epps. It doesn’t rely on any clever tricks of filmic storytelling or special effects, it just tells a simple story two interweaving lives and it’s lovely.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies, My DVD Library Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

