DVD Library Mission #10 – Dredd

Maybe it works in my favour that it’s been so long since I saw the original Judge Dredd that I don’t really remember that much about it but after hearing some searingly harsh reviews on Dredd, I wasn’t expecting much. I bloody loved it.

It’s action from the get go and for a performance involving no use of the upper half of his face, Karl Urban does a great job with his perpetually down-turned mouth at being both menacing and slightly cheesy. Olivia Thirlby is one to watch – after her fantastic turn in Juno, she ups the ante as the rookie Anderson here. She was a very watchable face.

The film has a great villain and great plotting. I watched it in blu-ray and it was worth every penny – it looks beautiful. If you find yourself at a loose end one evening, I highly recommend it. After all, each film needs its own judgment time (sorry).

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies, My DVD Library Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

