Bookshelf Mission #3 – Bright Young Things by Scarlett Thomas

I’ve never read any Thomas before but the blurb for this book caught my eye and I downloaded it on a whim. She appears to have gotten some very good reviews from notable other writers for previous works but this piece failed to wow me.

The story is an interesting one, and was very of its time, however despite a strong start and engaging first act, the remainder of the book is unbelievable, dull and just a little bit disappointing at the end. Saying that, once my bookshelf mission is over, I may try another of her books as this one had a lot of promise that just wasn’t given the space to live.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Books, My Bookshelf Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

