Movie – Argo

So I finally got round to watching Argo, and just in time for Oscar night.

It is a very good film. But not an amazing film.

The good – even though you know full well how it is going to end, it’s immensely tense and full of suspense. You cannot tear your eyes away from the screen in fear you will miss something essential, something life-threatening. Ben Affleck does a great job and being a strong lead as well as directing the whole cast.

The mediocre – the cast is strong but not stand-out amazing. This, I don’t think, is because of any poor acting just lack of material to work with. I’m confused how Alan Arkin earned his Oscar nomination as he’s hardly stretched here. He is typically good but there’s nothing meaty here that he’s putting on show.

I thoroughly enjoyed Argo but I don’t think it’s a film I would be shouting to the heavens about. Definitely not a real contender for the Oscar (or at least I don’t think it should be).

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

