Book – The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

I absolutely love dogs. I adore my own more than I love most people. This book, where the story itself would be enough to keep a reader interested and invested in its human characters, is elevated to a whole other level by being narrated by a dog.

The main character, Enzo, is right hand dog to Denny, a race car driver and head of the family that the story revolves around. Enzo is a human trapped in a dog’s body and the way he expresses himself and his frustration at not being able to communicate like his human family, is heartwarming and heartbreaking all at the same time.

I talk to my dog like he’s a human. He knows all my secrets and is my trusted companion. I would love to think that he sees the world like Enzo does. I don’t just recommend this remarkable story to dog-lovers. Read it even if you aren’t one. It had me in tears in the first and last chapters, and completely riveted in between. I’ll be seeking out more from Garth Stein after this.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

