Movie – Another Happy Day

This was available on demand on Sky. I don’t even know if it had a cinematic release in the UK but it should have; what a little gem. It’s not a happy film by any stretch – it is dark, depressing and a complete downer – but fantastically done. Don’t expect any happy endings here.

It follows an extended family being brought together for a wedding. Cue tears and arguments on divorce, drug abuse, self-harm, domestic abuse and much more. It has an all star cast led by a brittle Ellen Barkin, funnily enough who delivers the only performance in the film I’m not convinced by. But everyone else, in particular Ezra Miller as her son, is stellar. 

If you enjoy a movies that focus on the darker side of relationships and the reality of human relationships, particularly between families where you can’t help loving people that you also hate, then this is not one to miss. I’ll need a little break before watching it again but I definitely will. It is subtly powerful.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

