Movie – Young Adult

Perhaps it was all the hype about this film that made me not enjoy it as much as I could or should have. I have read an awful lot about how clever and darkly funny this film is but to be honest, I didn’t find it had much depth at all.

Theron is great, as she always is and I enjoyed following her selfish and somewhat ridiculous character’s journey back to her home town to try and rekindle an old flame (despite him being happily married and a new parent). I also enjoyed the way it portrays a reality of lost hopes and  dreams that don’t come true; but above all I really enjoyed it’s study of the character’s self-delusion (and how she is only really self-deluded in the eyes of some).

The ending though left me feeling rather empty. Perhaps that is the whole point and I’m missing it but I almost feel like the movie chickened out of making a decision one way or the other and it really needed to pack a bit more of a punch.

About mishmashmor

I write. Well, I try to write. Far less than I should. Mainly because I'm running around after my 1 year old daughter. Or because I'm sleeping. Same thing really.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie – Young Adult

  1. I had the opposite reaction as I expected to hate it and didn’t, I think everyone has met someone like Mavis, the are horrifying to watch but fascinating at the same time. Check out my review http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/04/25/young-adult/

    • mishmashmor says:

      I completely agree – she’s a fascinating character and I can see elements of several people I know (myself included) in her . Great review by the way although what did you not enjoy about Juno? I adored that film .

      • I think it was mainly that I felt the script tried too hard to be cool and quirky. I also felt she was too “Ok, now I go on with my old life, la la la” after the adoption. And Jason Bateman pissed me off big time although he probably was supposed to. There’s always 1 movie that everybody loves that I’m very “eh” to, Juno was that film that year.

Leave a Reply

